A change in coaches is not going to stop the Garden City Community College football team, at least according to a pair of junior college rankings released by separate sites recently.

In the well-known Dirty 30 rankings, released by JCGridiron.com, the Broncbusters — under first-year head coach Tom Minnick — are slotted eighth. Those rankings also include the junior college football programs from California.

Another ranking, released by gridironRR.com, has the Busters second overall — those rankings only include NJCAA programs.

The Busters finished 2018 as NJCAA runners-up, losing to perennial power East Mississippi in the title game. But in both preseason rankings, it was Iowa Western that took the No. 1 spot.

“Iowa Western went out and got a ton of bouncebacks, giving them D1 athletes in key places,” the Dirty 30 rankings said about the Reivers, who are part of the three Iowa teams involved in a scheduling agreement with the KJCCC.

The winner between Garden City and Iowa Western the last three seasons have played in the national championship that season. The Reivers are hardly the only highly-ranked team the Busters will face this season, as Butler comes in at No. 11 in Dirty 30 and No. 10 in Gridiron RR, followed by Iowa Central (No. 17 in both) and Hutchinson (No. 19 and No. 8, respectively) in both polls.

In the GridironRR poll, six KJCCC teams are in the top 25 and seven in the top 30 — Independence is No. 6, Highland is No. 21, Coffeyville No. 24 and Fort Scott No. 30.

The Busters also will face Snow (Utah) College, which is ranked No. 7 in the GridironRR poll, to open the season at 1 p.m. Aug. 24. All together, eight of the Busters’ 11 opponents are ranked in at least one of the two polls.


Dirty 30 Top 10

Team;2018 Rec.

1. Iowa Western;10-1

2. East Mississippi;12-0

3. Riverside City;11-1

4. Jones County;9-2

5. American River;7-4

6. Blinn;5-4

7. Northwest;8-2

8. Garden City;10-1

9. Saddleback;8-3

10. Lackawanna;8-0


GridironRR Top 10

Team;2018 Rec.

1. Iowa Western;10-1

2. Garden City;10-1

3. East Mississippi;12-0

4. Lackawanna;8-0

5. Mississippi Gulf Coast;7-2

6. Independence;2-8

7. Snow;8-3

8. Hutchinson;8-3

9. Northwest;8-2

10. Butler;7-4