Leadership Kansas class announced

TOPEKA - The Kansas Chamber announced Monday its 2020 Leadership Kansas class. Leadership Kansas is a nationally recognized program focused on developing and motivating Kansas leaders from all four corners of the state.

This year, Leadership Kansas received more than 600 nominations for the program. After a thorough and thoughtful application and selection process, the selection committee chose 40 individuals for the 2020 class. The committee and the Leadership Kansas Board of Advisors make every effort to ensure the class reflects the state in regards to geographic, ethnic, occupational, and gender diversity.

The 2020 program begins in late April with an orientation session in Lawrence and ends with graduation in October after the completion of six sessions. The cities the 2020 class will visit for this year's program include Garden City, Overland Park, Olathe, Lenexa, Kansas City, KS, Leavenworth, Hays, Pittsburg, Hutchinson, Wichita, El Dorado, Manhattan, and Topeka.

Throughout the six-month program, the class interacts with a variety of experts and community leaders through three-day educational training sessions. The diverse discussion topics include business, education, agriculture, public policy, societal health, economic development, and government.

“As one of the oldest and most prestigious statewide leadership programs in the country, Leadership Kansas has a long history of fostering greater awareness and understanding of statewide economic, business, and political issues. The program helps develop our state leaders to make Kansas a stronger and more vibrant business engine." said Kansas Chamber President & CEO Alan Cobb.

Lona DuVall of the Finney County Economic Development Corporation, Garden City; Corey Linville of Sunflower Electric Power Company, Garden City; Sarah Thompson, Seward County Community College, Liberal; and Tamara Clymer of the Colby/Thomas County Chamber of Commerce, Colby, are the only western Kansas participants in the 39 class members.