Bernadine Sitts Intermediate Center is one of ten Kansas schools to be recognized by receiving the School of Promising Practice Award for the civic engagement opportunities they offer students.

The award ceremony will be at 1 p.m. on Sept. 17, Constitution Day, at the Memorial Building Auditorium, 120 S.W. 10th Ave. in Topeka.

The Civic Advocacy Network (CAN) was established by the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) in order to recognize schools that actively involve students in civic engagement opportunities and to help collect exemplary civic engagement practices to share with schools across the state. The ultimate goal of CAN is to promote civic engagement as part of all preK-12 students’ experiences.

Schools that meet the award criteria receive one of two designations – School of Excellence or School of Promising Practice.

Schools receiving Promising Practice Awards are: Bernadine Sitts Intermediate Center, Garden City USD 457; Derby High School, Derby USD 260; and West Middle School, Lawrence USD 497.

The CAN award winners are: Whittier Elementary, Winfield USD 465; North Lyon County Elementary, North Lyon County USD 251; Seaman High School, Seaman USD 345; Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; South Barber High School, South Barber USD 255; Swaney Elementary School, Derby USD 260; and Santa Fe Trail Middle School, Olathe USD 233.

Award applicants must show student engagement around the “Six Proven Practices for Effective Civic Learning”:

Instruction in government, history, law and democracy.

Incorporation of discussion of current local, national and international issues, and events in the classroom, particularly those that young people view as important to their lives.

Design and implement programs that provide students with opportunities to apply what they learn through performing community service that is linked to the formal curriculum and classroom instruction.

Offer extracurricular activities that provide opportunities for young people to get involved in their schools or communities.

Encourage student participation in school governance.

Encourage student participation in simulations of democratic processes and procedures.

Schools named as Schools of Excellence are a part of CAN for three years. At the end of the three-year period, each school must reapply.

Schools that apply for the CAN award but aren’t named a School of Excellence have the opportunity to be named a School of Promising Practice. This award is given to schools that have a particularly innovative, effective or unique program that shows potential for impacting student engagement.

This is the second year for the awards.