Fifty-six teachers and classroom staff across Kansas, including five from Garden City, recently were honored by Kansas Reading Roadmap (KRR) for their work promoting early literacy.

As part of National Teacher Appreciation Week, which ran Monday through Friday, KRR recognized the teachers with the Outstanding Early Literacy Teacher award.

The five Garden City USD 457 teachers awarded were Amber Doyle, of Abe Hubert Elementary School; Mary (Connie) Carillo, of Buffalo Jones Elementary School; Morgan Allaman, of Florence Wilson Elementary School; Peggy Patterson, of Gertrude Walker Elementary School; and Jessica Solis Algrim, of Victor Ornelas Elementary School.

KRR asked schools to nominate a teacher who has played a critical role in the school to help students succeed in reading. The 56 nominees were honored by KRR within their respective schools during National Teacher Appreciation Week. Those nominees will be considered by KRR for the statewide Outstanding Early Literacy Teacher of the Year honor, to be awarded at the organization’s state conference in August.