The Western Kansas Community Foundation has awarded Smoky Hills Public Television with a grant for $2,300 to provide books for preschoolers and Head Start students in several western Kansas communities.

The counties served through the funding include Finney, Grant, Gray, Haskell, Kearny, Scott, Seward, Stanton, Stevens, Wichita, Greeley, Hamilton, Lane, Meade and Morton counties.

Smoky Hills Public Television serves 71 counties in central and western Kansas.