Garden City Republican Jean Clifford, who ran unopposed for the Kansas State Board of Education District 5 seat, was one of five people elected to the state BOE on Tuesday.

Clifford, who currently serves on the Garden City USD 457 Board of Education, will replace Sally Cauble (R-Dodge City) who decided not to seek re-election.

Ben Jones (R-Sterling) won in the BOE District 7 over James Hannon (D-Emporia), incumbent Jim Porter (R-Fredonia) ran unopposed in District 9, incumbent Janet Waugh (D-Kansas City) defeated Michael Powell (R-Leavenworth) in District 1, and Michelle Dombrosky (R-Olathe) won over Ruth Goff (D-Spring Hill) in District 3.

In Finney County, county commissioners Lon E. Pishny (R-District 1), William Clifford (R-District 4), and Larry C. Jones (R-District 5) all ran unopposed and were re-elected.

Finney County Clerk Dori Munyan, Republican, who has been serving in that capacity since former County Clerk Anita Garcia resigned in January, ran unopposed and was elected to serve out Garcia’s unexpired term.

Several area state lawmakers — Rep. Leonard A. Mastroni (R-117th), Rep. J. Russell “Russ” Jennings (R-122nd), Boyd Orr (R-115th) and Don Hineman (R-118th) — were uncontested in their re-election bids.

Republican Martin (Marty) Long (R-Ulysses) was elected for the first time to the 124th district seat in an uncontested race.