Friday marked the deadline to register to run for office in Finney County, with three seats on the Finney County Commission up for election.

Familiar faces filed to fill the three seats as Dr. Bill Clifford, Lon Pishny and Larry Jones — all Republicans who are current members of the commission — filed for re-election.

Clifford serves District 4 while Pishny and Jones serve Districts 1 and 5, respectively.

Finney County is split into seven townships, and each has its own elected clerk. All seven clerk positions are up for election.

Vryl Warren has filed for the Pierceville township while James Hewes filed for the Garfield township. The other five townships remain open.

For Kansas House of Representatives, Garden City Democrat Pedro Rodriguez will challenge incumbent Republican John Wheeler in the 123rd District.

In the 124th House District, Republicans Martin Long, Ulysses, and Jeffery Locke, Sublette, are running for the seat currently filled by Rep. J. Stephen Alford, Ulysses, who did not file to run for office again.

In the 122nd District, incumbent Russ Jennings, a Republican from Lakin, is the lone candidate to file.

Don Hineman, Republican House Majority Leader from Dighton, has filed for re-election in the 118th District. No one, either Republican or Democrat, has filed to run against him.

For Kansas Board of Education, Garden City USD 457 board member and Republican Jean Clifford is the only candidate who has filed for the District 5 seat being vacated by Sally Cauble of Dodge City.

July 17 will be the last day to register to vote in Finney County. In-person advanced voting begins July 18 at the County Clerk’s office. Hours will be 8 a.m. to 5 p.m Monday through Friday. Advanced voting closes at noon on Aug. 6. The primary election is scheduled for Aug. 7.

For more information on voting or local elections, visit