A total of 22 students from the Southwest District FFA were awarded their state FFA degrees at the 90th Kansas FFA State Convention, May 30 and June 1, on the Kansas State University campus.

The degree is the highest honor the Kansas FFA Association can bestow upon its members. In order to achieve this award, members must meet the following requirements: have received their Chapter FFA degree, been an FFA member and agricultural education student for at least two years, earned at least $2,000 or worked 600 hours in their Supervised Agricultural Experience program, given a six-minute speech about agriculture or FFA, participated in eight different leadership activities, received a “C” average or better in high school and shown a record of outstanding leadership and community involvement.

The members who met these qualifications and their respective FFA Chapters from the Southwest District are: Dodge City — Camryn Youngers; Greeley County — Evan Crotinger, Noah Ochsner, Logan Reding; Hodgeman County — Jaycee Hillman, Carmen Lee; Holcomb — Chris Chandler, Steven Crain, Kyle Hammond, Emma Mangels, Michael Peterson, Henry Beesley, Mitchell Hamlin, Caitlin Kiley, Megan Newlon; LaCrosse — Josef Boutte , Addie Kershner, Jacob Showalter; Scott City — Emily Glenn; South Central — Allison Dale, Hunter Huck, Maddie Martin.