Not only did the Garden City Buffaloes wrestling team capture its second consecutive Class 6A team championship on Saturday in Wichita, and Michael Prieto and Tevin Briscoe repeat as individual state champions, but the Buffs have dominated the first team all-Western Athletic Conference selections just announced by WAC officials.

Prieto (44-2) and Briscoe (33-3), champions at 113 and 138 pounds, headline a group of seven Buffs' grapplers to make the first team, half of the 14 selections.

The Buffs, with a 3-1 WAC mark, also repeated as the conference champion.

In addition to the two state champs, Efrain Sanchez (106), Alec Castillo (132), Chris Adler (145), Zac Finch (160) and Montana Fuller (285) all garnered first-team honors.

Named to the honorable mention list were Jesse Nunez (152), Sammy Reyes (195) and Benny Hernandez (220).

Head coach Carlos Prieto was voted Coach of the Year while Hays' Class 5A state champion at 195 pounds, Preston Weigel, was named Wrestler of the Year. Weigel completed his second straight unbeaten season in Class 5A and won his third consecutive state championship. In winning his four matches at state, Weigel only gave up one point while winning each match by the 15-point technical fall category. He was 40-0.