Six members of the Garden City High School Class 6A state wrestling championship Buffaloes were named to the 2013 all-Western Athletic Conference first team.

Heading the list of Buffs were 106-pound and 132-pound state champions Michael Prieto and Tevin Briscoe.

Prieto became the first GCHS wrestler in school history to win a state title as a freshman, with a 41-2 record. Briscoe finished his season at 40-4.

Also named to the first team were Trevor Kennedy (145), Chris Adler (152), Juan Carlos Rodriguez (182) and Montana Fuller (285). Adler was a fifth-place finisher at the state tournament on Saturday while Rodriguez finished out of the medal race. Fuller did not qualify for the state tourney.

Eight Buffs received honorable mention honors, and that group included Matt Urrutia (120), Alec Castillo (126), AJ Hurtado (138), Zac Finch (160), Anthony Gardner (170), Sammy Reyes (195) and Samson Aldaco (220). Castillo placed fourth at the state tournament while Hurtado was runner-up. Gardner also was a runner-up at the state while Reyes finished third.

In addition to the wrestlers being honored, first-year Buffaloes' coach Carlos Prieto was recognized as the Coach of the Year. The Buffs swept through the WAC with a 4-0 dual record and were ranked No. 1 in Class 6A all season. The state championship was the school's first in the sport since 1999 and was the eighth overall wrestling state title.

The remainder of the WAC first team selections were: Jaden McRoberts, Dodge City (113); Clay Weil, Dodge City (120); Chris Burley, Great Bend (126); Dane Edwards, Dodge City (138); Bryce Hofmeister, Great Bend (160); Kyler Myers, Hays (170); Preston Weigel, Hays (195) and Gunar Brewer, Great Bend (220).

Weigel, who captured the Class 5A state championship and finished the season with a 42-0 record, was voted the Wrestler of the Year.