Add Your Comment | Read (0) Comments

South Gray moves up to Class 2A; volleyball sites announced

Published 9/29/2012

By The Telegram

South Gray High School has moved up from Class 1A to 2A for the 2012-2013 sports seasons according to the newest school enrollments released on Thursday by the Kansas State High School Activities Association.

The Rebels, long a 1A power in boys and girls basketball with strong teams in other sports as well, has 109 students this year in grades 9 through 12. Class 2A, with 64 schools, has an enrollment range from 101 to 158.

Of the 19 schools in The Telegram readership area, ther are seven schools in Class 1A, five in Class 2A, four in Class 3A, two in Class 4A and 1 in Class 6A.

Garden City remains the biggest school in southwest Kansas with 2,032 students enrolled, making it the fifth biggest school in Kansas this school year. Wichita East, with 2,276 is the biggest.

Ulysses and Hugoton, two members of the Great West Activities Conference, are firmly entrenched in Class 4A with 457 and 297 students. The range in 4A is 258 to 729. Colby and Goodland, two other GWAC member schools, are also in 4A with 310 and 275 students. Goodland was a 3A school a year ago.

In Class 3A, Holcomb, Scott City, Cimarron and Lakin remain firmly set in that class.

Holcomb had 256 students enrolled while Scott City had 242. Cimarron followed with 182 and Lakin was at 170. Southwestern Heights, another Hi-Plains League member with Lakin and Cimarron, had 182 students.

In Class 2A, area schools include Sublette (137), Johnson-Stanton County (127), Syracuse (119), Leoti-Wichita County (112), and South Gray. Other HPL Class 2A schools are Elkhart (136) and Meade (139).

Class 1A has a range of enrollment from 15 to 101, with area schools including Deerfield (73), Dighton (66), Healy (20), Ingalls (68), Moscow (50), Satanta (83) and Tribuen-Greeley County (59).

KSHSAA also released Friday sub-state assignments for girls volleyball, which will be played on Oct. 20 with state tournaments slated for Oct. 27-28.

Garden City will host a Class 6A sub-state with teams including Dodge City, Haysville-Campus, Hutchinson, Maize, Wichita North, Wichita Northwest and Wichita South.

In Class 4A, Ulysses will be host where teams include Buhler, Colby, Goodland, Hugoton, Larned, Nickerson and Pratt.

Class 3A sub-state will be contested at Hoisington where Cimarron, Holcomb, Southwestern Heights, Lakin and Scott City will be joined by TMP-Marian, host Hoisington, and Russell.

In Class 2A, Meade will play host to Elkhart, Hodgeman County, Stanton County, South Gray, Ness City, Sublette and Syracuse. Wichita County will compete at Oberlin along with Ellis, Hill City, Rock Hills, Oakley, Plainville and Smith Center.

Class 1A, split into two divisions will have Deerfield and Satanta competing at Bucklin in Division I, where other schools include South Central/Coldwater and Spearville. In 1A-Division II, Dighton will host and be joined by Healy, Greeley County, Wheatland/Grinnell, Palco and Western Plains. Ingalls and Moscow will compete at Rolla along with Ashland and Fowler.

Add your Comment About This Story

Commenting Rules

The Garden City Telegram reserves the right to delete any comment it deems inappropriate. We encourage visitor comments and ask that you be brief and add something relevant to the conversation. All comments are reviewed (usually within 24 hours or less) before appearing on this website.

Read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use for full details of our policies.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.


captcha af1a2d1295fd44d6a087945ac9ceb95f

Found 0 comment(s)!