Garrett Love, a former state senator from Montezuma, was appointed Thursday by U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue to be the chairman of the Kansas Farm Service Agency state committee.

State committees are selected by the agriculture secretary, serve at the pleasure of the secretary and are responsible for carrying out FSA programs within delegated authorities, according to a press release from the U. S. Department of Agriculture.

Also appointed in Kansas were Greg McCurry, Sedgwick County; Michael Jordan, Mitchell County; Nick Gutterman, Miami /Johnson County; and Lexy Goyer, Cowley County.

"The State Committees will help to ensure USDA is providing our farmers, ranchers, foresters, and agricultural producers with the best customer service," Perdue said. "They serve as a liaison between USDA and the producers in each state across the nation by keeping them informed and hearing their appeals and complaints. The committees are made up mostly of active farmers and ranchers, representing their peers and ensuring USDA's programs are supporting the American harvest."