The U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has given notice to the public of its intent to reimburse state and local Kansas governments and agencies, and eligible private nonprofit organizations for eligible costs incurred to repair and/or replace facilities damaged by severe winter storms, snowstorms, straight-line winds, and flooding that occurred from April 28 to May 3, 2017.

This notice applies to the Public Assistance (PA) and Hazard Mitigation Grant (HMGP) programs implemented under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 USC §§ 5121-5207, as amended.

Under a major disaster declaration (DR-4319-KS) signed by the President on June 16, 2017, the following counties in the state of Kansas have been designated adversely affected by the disaster and are eligible for Public Assistance:

Assistance for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities: Cherokee, Cheyenne, Crawford, Decatur, Finney, Gove, Graham, Grant, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Kearny, Lane, Logan, Morton, Neosho, Norton, Rawlins, Scott, Seward, Sheridan, Sherman, Stanton, Stevens, Thomas, Wallace, and Wichita Counties.

Snow Assistance - emergency assistance which will be provided for a period of 48 hours: Greeley, Hamilton, Lane, Logan, Morton, Scott, Stanton, Thomas, and Wallace Counties.

All counties in the state of Kansas are eligible for the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP). There are no counties designated for Individual Assistance (IA).

This public notice concerns public assistance activities that may affect historic properties, activities that are located in, or affect, wetland areas or the 100-year floodplain (areas determined to have a one-percent probability of flooding in any given year), and critical actions within the 500-year floodplain.  Such activities may adversely affect the historic property, floodplain or wetland, or may result in continuing vulnerability to flood damage.

Such activities may include restoring facilities located in a floodplain with eligible damage to pre-disaster condition. Examples of such activities include, but are not limited to, the following:

• Non-emergency debris removal and disposal;

• Non-emergency protective measures;

• Repair/replacement of roads, including streets, culverts, and bridges;

• Repair/replacement of public dams, reservoirs and channels;

• Repair/replacement of public buildings and related equipment;

• Repair/replacement of public water control facilities, pipes and distribution systems;

• Repair/replacement of public utilities, including sewage treatment plants, sewers and electrical power distribution systems; and

• Repair/replacement of eligible private, nonprofit facilities (hospitals, educational centers, emergency and custodial care services, etc.).

For more on the public notice, visit