The Garden City Telegram

Lincoln student earns Molz scholarship

By The Telegram

Otis and Mary Lee Molz have been contributing to cooperative organization, education and development for many years and are respected leaders in the co-op community. Now, they're encouraging the next generation to plan a future with cooperatives. The Otis and Mary Lee Molz Cooperative Scholarship was established in 2005 and is awarded annually.

Jamie Briscoe of Lincoln was selected to be the 2012-13 recipient of the scholarship through an invited application process and screening of applicants, who then were interviewed by a selection committee, including Otis and Mary Lee Molz, who live in the Deerfield area.

Jamie is a senior at Kansas State University, earning a double major in agribusiness and accounting. She is a K-State Agriculture Ambassador, K-State Ag Student Council member and Collegiate Cattlewomen Club member. She participated in a study abroad tour to Brazil and completed an internship with Cargill Animal Nutrition. In addition to school, Jamie is a student worker for the Kansas State University Swine Laboratory. After graduation, Jamie hopes to work in finance, accounting or public relations. The Briscoe family is affiliated with Farmway Co-op, Inc., Farmway Credit Union, The Ellsworth Co-op and Midway Co-op Association.

To be eligible for the scholarship, a student must be either a junior or senior in K-State's College of Agriculture at the time the scholarship is received, and be affiliated as a member or as a child or dependent of a member of a Kansas agricultural marketing, supply or service cooperative that is a member of the Kansas Cooperative Council.

The Arthur Capper Cooperative Center provides research-based information, education and assistance to people with and interested in cooperative businesses, including cooperative members, directors, managers and employees. The Center also works with students and faculty at educational institutions, the general public and public officials as well as owners, directors, managers and employees of agribusinesses.

Previous scholarship recipients include: Kim Kerschen, Garden Plain; Ashley Guenther, Ottawa; Lindsey Voet, Home; Anne Winter, Mt. Hope; and Justin Patterson, Benton. The Molz scholarship was funded by contributions made to the Center's endowment fund with the KSU Foundation. An initial contribution of $10,000 was made by CoBank with additional contributions by the Molz's and friends in the cooperative community.

Additional contributions to the scholarship should be made payable to: KSU Foundation/ACCC/ Molz and sent to the Arthur Capper Cooperative Center, Kansas State University, Department of Agricultural Economics, 305 Waters Hall, Manhattan, KS 66506.