Buffs earn WAC honors in three fall sports

By The Telegram

Five Garden City High School football players received first team all-Western Athletic Conference honors for the recently completed 2012 season.

Recognized for the Buffaloes on offense were linemen Mitch Moore and Ben Blood and tight end Taylor Foley.

On the defensive side, the Buffs included end Andres Rivas and linebacker Brady Bean. All five of those players are seniors.

Five other Buffs received honorable mention recognition. Included were Hunter Delgado, Greyson Tempel, Dustin Tempel, Logan Dechant and Denton Keller.

Delgado played in the defensive secondary for the Buffs as did Dustin Tempel, who also played wide receiver on offense. Dechant went both ways, as well, at running back and cornerback while Keller played in the secondary and was a backup quarterback. Greyson Tempel quarterbacked the Buffs to a 5-4 overall record while the Buffs finished 2-2 in the WAC.

WAC champion Hays had the player of the year in senior running back David Cardinal, who repeated the honor from 2011, while Ryan Cornelson, coach of the Indians, was recognized as the coach of the year.


2012 All-WAC


First Team

Line--Wyatt Bayless, Great Bend, Sr.; Michael Begley, Liberal, Sr.; Justin Gemaehlich, Dodge City, Sr.; Mitch Moore, Garden City, Sr.; Ben Blood, Garden City, Sr.; TE--Taylor Foley, Garden City, Sr.; WR--Adam Deterding, Hays, Sr.; Dakota Duckett, Dodge City, Sr.; Trenton Hammond, Liberal, Jr. RB--Josh Lopez, Great Bend, Sr.; QB--Alex Delton, Hays, So.; Britton Abbott, Liberal, Jr.


Line--Andres Rivas, Garden City, Sr.; Chad Towslee, Great Bend, Sr.; Jayce Brock, Great Bend, So.; Cade Sharp, Hays, Sr.; Linebackers--Kyler Meyers, Hays, Sr.; Emilio Mitchell, Hays, Sr.; Brady Bean, Garden City, Sr.; Hunter Harrison, Great Bend, Sr.; Secondary--Taylor Murphy, Dodge City, Sr.; Chance Pitcock, Hays, Sr.; Chris Burley, Great Bend, Sr.; Athlete--David Cardinal, Hays, Sr.

Player of the Year--David Cardinal, Hays.

Coach of the Year--Ryan Cornelson, Hays.

Honorable Mention

Great Bend--Lucas Westhoff, Sr.; Brock Ibarra, Sr.; Matt Marshall, Sr.; Michael Haines, Sr.; Ryan Zecha, Sr.

Garden City--Hunter Delgado, Jr.; Greyson Tempel, Jr.; Dustin Tempel, Jr.; Logan Dechant, Sr.; Denton Keller, Sr.

Hays--Brandon Hardwick, So.; Preston Weigel, Jr.; Jake Sedbrooke, Sr.; Kenny Rounkles, Jr.; Derek Bixenmen, Sr.

Liberal--Dustin Friederich, Jr.; Heath Parmenter, Jr.; Dylan Berens, Jr.; J.J. Lewis, Sr.; Christian Torres, Sr.

Dodge City--Kelan Newton, Jr.; Parker Davis, Sr.; Jordan Doan, Sr.; Alfredo Hernandez, Sr.

Boys soccer

Two Garden City High School Buffaloes soccer players earned first-team all-Western Athletic Conference honors after the Buffs won the WAC and finished the season with a 15-3 won-loss record.

The Buffs, who lost in the second round of the Class 6A playoffs in overtime to Derby, placed sophomore Erik Barrgan and senior Eric Guillen on the first team. Buffs' head coach Joaquin Padilla earned coach of the year honors in a vote of the league's coaches.

Four additional Buffs earned honorable mention honors. That group included sophomore David Amaro, and seniors Juan Carlos Rodriguez, Emilio Castillo and Joel Sanchez.


First Team

Liberal--Cristian Gandara, Sr.; Esteban Michel, Sr.; Jason Rios, Jr.

Garden City--Eric Guillen, Sr.; Erik Barragan, So.

Great Bend--Alex Urias, Sr.; Fernando Espino, Sr.; Mario Espino, Sr.

Dodge City--Hector Navarro, Sr.; Isaac Palma, So.

Hays--Lane Clark, Jr.

Honorable Mention

Garden City--David Amaro, So.; Juan Carlos Rodriguez, Sr.; Emilio Castillo, Sr.; Joel Sanchez, Sr.

Hays--Joshua Johnson, Sr.; Cameron O'Connor, Sr.; Kellen Griffin, Sr.; Jordan Windholz, Jr.

Great Bend--Jose Mijares, Sr.; Javier Guerra, Sr.

Dodge City--Leonel Lopez, Fr.

Player of the Year--Alex Urias, Great Bend.

Coach of the Year--Joaquin Padilla, Garden City.


Western Athletic Conference repeat team champion Garden City placed just one player, senior Casey Curran, on the all-WAC first team.

Curran was a repeat selection from 2011.

Joining her on the first team were Jai Chapman, voted the Player of the Year, and Riley Hay from Liberal; Alexis Sanchez of Dodge City; Brenna Haines of Great Bend and Mikayla Linn of Hays. Chapman and Haines are juniors while the remaining four are seniors. Coach of the Year honors went to Thais Allen Baziquetto of Liberal.

Receiving honorable mention honors for the Lady Buffs, who had an 18-15 season record, were juniors Jacksenie Torner and Taryn Tempel.


First Team

Liberal--Jai Chapman, Jr.; Riley Hay, Sr.

Dodge City--Alex Sanchez, Sr.

Garden City--Casey Curran, Sr.

Great Bend--Brenna Haines, Jr.

Hays--Mikayla Linn, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Garden City--Taryn Tempel, Jr.; Jacksenie Tornero, Jr.

Great Bend--Bonny Boultinghouse, Sr.

Dodge City--Ciera Lampe, Sr.

Liberal--Katie Garcia, Jr.

Hays--Shea Briggs, Sr.

Player of the Year--Jai Chapman, Liberal, Jr.

Coach of the Year--Thais Allen Baziquetto, Liberal.